Does increased data liquidity leads to less volatile stock market?

Saw an interesting tweet by Dan Romero

In a world where most economic activity happens on public block chains, GDP, CPI, BLS reports are all real-time.

Increased data liquidity leads to less volatile stock market?

I’m not an econ expert, so I can’t say. Just wanted to pose the question here.

It’s an interesting thought. I can see the potential upside of data liquidity: increased transparency and lower volatility because the market can price things more accurately based on available data.

However, I wonder what the negative consequences are, if any.

I think @preethi is right, there are studies showing that greater availability of information tends to result in more efficient market pricing (and a reduction in real and perceived risk because there are fewer unknowns), thus lowering volatility and increasing liquidity.

Along your line of thinking, if the 2008 crisis showed policy makers and regulators were unaware of how much debt was in the system, what would happen if instead, debt was issued on an open blockchain? Would the financial system be less volatile, and the economy be more immune to boom-and-bust cycles? Maybe a system like MarketDAO could enable fully transparent debt creation, thus permitting debt/growth capital to be created while ensuring debt levels would not harm the system itself.

If one believes in the efficient market hypothesis, then increased “data liquidity” should lead to a less volatile stock market, as the “correct” price of an asset should be found even quicker than it currently is. In a world full of “data liquidity”, there will be very little information asymmetry. In a perfectly accessible data market, the “correct” price of an asset should be found pretty much instantaneously.

I do not believe in the efficient market hypothesis though, and in fact, think that markets are in a perpetual state of disequilibrium.