Claim: Most people DON'T want to be their own bank

Nathaniel Whittemore recently sparked a discussion around whether people want to be their own bank or not. We’re going to be debating this claim live on Tuesday March 19th.

In the meantime, I wanted to use this thread to highlight some arguments for why someone would back or challenge this claim. :point_down:

Arguments to back the claim:

• For most non-techie people it only makes sense to be your own bank in specific circumstances & in stages, leveling up when your skills match that responsibility. [source]
  • It’s currently waaaay too complicated for a total newbie. With ominous “high price of failure” tones hanging over the entire conversation. [source]
  • Some people do not have the ability to really grasp and understand this stuff. It’s the same as voting - not everyone will do it no matter how hard we push. [source]
  • The “BYOBank” slogan is based on a fundamental misunderstanding of what affordances arise from tech systems vs emergent complex/network/social systems. You can’t be your own bank, even if you want to. [source]

Arguments to challenge the claim:

• It’s not about not wanting to but being able to. Open finance on Ethereum allows any developer to deploy a trust minimized financial service. That doesn’t necessarily mean that my grandma will interact directly with these services, but the implications are huge. [source]
  • BYOB = option (not requirement) to exit. As the exit cost from the existing system falls, the power balance automatically shifts in favor of the individual. That way the option to be your own bank improves the conditions for everyone if they use it or not. [source]
  • Once it becomes common knowledge that it is possible for anyone to be their own bank, that changes the way existing monetary system participants behave. [source]
  • Bitcoin is about optionality and freedom. [source]